Organizing – Hitting the Wall

Things have been progressing well as I work through the assignments given by my professional organiser. Most of my things are sorted and some are put away. My space is starting to feel comfortable and usable. But I am hitting the wall. I hear the voice in my head saying ‘Isn’t this good enough? Do you really have any more time to waste on this?’
I look at my almost organised space, and at the 9 crates with incomplete projects from the last few weeks and I realise that I have been using the chaos and my habitual lack of finishing as a shield. As the reason for not operating at full power, for not putting my work out there to be judged. Once the chaos is tamed there will be no more excuses.

Yesterday I posted on scoutie girl that passion is scary and overwhelming.  I think that is because of how I am feeling right now, in this project.  I have gotten to this point, organizing myself so many times, and given up.  But this time I have back up.  I know if I want to finish this time I need to call Claudia for help.  She told me at the start that people are never disorganized because they are lazy.  That there is always a good reason.  I guess I just found mine. 

Is getting organised going to make me a better artist?

Leave a Reply

