Stash Reduction!

Well this year I am going on a fabric diet.  My studio is a pretty small space, 6′ x 15′ and it is bursting at the seams. 

As you can see the mess isn’t terrible, and the stash is not huge, but I am exceeding my storage space, and I need room to work.  Plus it seems extremely wasteful to go on buying new fabric when I have so much already on hand.  I would love to dive into some of the new organic prints that are starting to become available, so the stash needs to go.   Heres my plan.

Each week I am making a quilt from stash only fabrics.  Depending on my schedule it can be a UFO or a new item.  Some weeks it will be something small, other weeks a bed size.

At least once a month the item will be a new design, and as I  make it I will write a pattern, some patterns I will include here as free tutorials, others will be listed for sale in my artfire studio .  Most of the quilts I make will be listed there too. 

Some friends from my quilting guild are joining me, and are planning on making one stash quilt per month.  I will be posting pictures of their work here too. 

Would you like to join us in stash reduction?  All crafts are welcome.  In fact I was inspired on this course by reading the minimalist knitter blog.  You can participate at what ever level you choose, as long as you are using stash only materials.

6 Comments »

  1. Mortira said

    Using up old materials is so rewarding. You get new designs and more space at the same time. Setting a goal like you have really helps – good luck with your challenge!

  2. yolanda said

    I am totally in! Thanks Chantelle for the inspiration and inviting us to be a part of this. I look forward to trying out your patterns 🙂

  3. sarah s. said

    wow that is an amazing goal. I will be interested in checking in on your progress..Have a great January and welcome to the meetup….

  4. This is an awesome challenge…I love the creativity that can be brought from limitations! As a dyer, I found myself overwhelmed with the possibility of being to dye any color I wanted. It was only when I limited color choices that I began to hit my stride!

  5. Candy,
    I also find that setting rules expands rather than limits me creatively.
    I am right now trying to decide if I am including dyeing as part of my stash. I have on hand a bolt of white organic cotton, and a good range of procion dyes. So would fabrics I dye from this point forward be adding to my stash or using it up?
    I think I will be dyeing for at least one quilt as I want to push myself and see if I can eye match the colours from a print I have and love.

  6. Liz said

    welcome to the meet up chantelle! will look forward to seeing the result of your de-stash, have a great January, and yes, it’s Liz!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

